Gitega town to become political capital of Burundi

The Council of Ministers which was held at Gitega presidential palace this December 21, 2018 has adopted the bill setting the political capital of Burundi in Gitega province and the economic capital in Bujumbura city.

Jean Claude Karerwa Ndenzako: “The meetings of the Council of Ministers will now be held in Gitega”

Jean Claude Karerwa Ndenzako, spokesman for the President of Burundi, says the meetings of the Council of Ministers will from now be held in Gitega province and five ministries will be relocated to the new political capital in early 2019.

This Council of Minister was held after the retreat of government members which was held in Gitega province under the chairmanship of Pierre Nkurunziza, Burundi President.

Located in the Centre of the country, Gitega was created in 1912 during German colonization. It became the capital of Urundi during the Belgium colonization while Usumbura (Bujumbura, the current capital of the country) had the status of the capital of Rwanda-Urundi. Gitega is considered as the second city of the country.