Ruling party candidate wins presidential election

The National Independent Electoral Commission-CENI announced this May 25, the provisional results of the presidential and legislative elections held on May 20.

General Major Evariste Ndayishimiye wins presidential election

According to the CENI, Evariste Ndayishimiye, candidate for the ruling CNDD-FDD party is the winner of the presidential election with 68, 72% and is followed by Agathon Rwasa, his main challenger and candidate for CNL party with 24, 19%.

For the legislative election, the CNDD-FDD party has won 72 places at the National Assembly while CNL and UPRONA parties have got 27 and 1 places respectively.
Pierre Claver Kazihise, CENI Chairman has said that the electoral process went smoothly and was well organized. “The poll compilation was transparently conducted in the presence of all observers,” said Kazihise.

As for Joseph Ntakarutimana, Deputy Secretary of the ruling CNDD-FDD party, the victory is for all Burundians and will sustainable development. “We believe that the previous crisis won’t happen again in the country,” he has said.

In an interview with Iwacu Press Group, Agathon Rwasa had, on Friday, rejected the election results saying his party won the elections in all three-combined elections.
He also said he had enough evidence to prove it. “This is a real fiasco marred by enormous irregularities”, he said adding that he didn’t intend to negotiate with any person. “The choice of people must be respected,” he said.

On May 20, over 4.4 million of Burundians went to the polls to vote for the president, MPs and members of the communal council.

Seven candidates were running for president. According to CENI, UPRONA party has got 1,64%, Kira Burundi got 0,55%, Sahwanya Frodebu got 0,47% while Dieudonné Nahimana and Francis Rohero have got respectively 0,42% and 0,20%.