New ministers take oath after government reshuffle

21 new Burundian ministers have taken an oath this April 24, 2018.

The new government ministers after the swearing-in ceremonies

The new government ministers after the swearing-in ceremonies

The presidential decree appointing them was issued on 18 April 2018 and they were all sworn in at Kigobe Congress Hall in the capital Bujumbura before the President of the Republic and Parliament.

Among the appointed ministers, only five are new. Ambassador Ezéchiel Nibigira, former leader of the Imbonerakure (youth wing affiliated to the ruling party at the national level), will serve as the Minister of Foreign Affairs and International Cooperation.

Gaspard Banyankimbona, former rector of the University of Burundi, was appointed Minister of Higher Education and Scientific Research.

Evelyne Butoyi, former senator, was appointed as Minister of Youth, post and information technology.

Thaddée Ndikumana, former spokesperson for the Ministry of Public Health has become the head of the ministry while Jean Marie Niyokindi was appointed minister of commerce, industry and tourism.

Of these 21 ministers, 6 are women while the remaining 15 are men.

error: Content is protected !!